Beloved Strangers

Originally posted with Good night already.com. Thought it was a lovely article.

Goodnight Already

Yesterday, because the sun was out, I took Stump, my three-year-old, to a park we don’t often visit. The playground area was overflowing with kids and parents, and so Stump and I were quick to move on. We moved to the sunny field for a while and then Stump pointed to the tennis courts. No one was actually playing tennis. There was just a sunny court, a few puddles, and a little girl, maybe five years old, whose mother was helping her learn to ride a bike. The moment I opened the tennis court gate, the little girl jumped off her bike and ran to us. For a moment I was confused. Was there someone behind us that she knew? Did she mistake my kid for someone else? But I didn’t have too much time to wonder, because she was already standing beside me, tickling the inside of Stump’s…

View original post 727 more words

2 thoughts on “Beloved Strangers

  1. What a beautiful story. Almost too lovely to be true but filled with such detail that it has to be. This makes my heart warm. Imagine if adults could live with the same freedom of embracing a stranger with childlike innocence? For now I’ll just have to steal glances at handsome strangers.

Leave a Reply

